In Memoriam: Bernard L. Kowalski (1929-2007)

December 21, 2007

Bernard L. Kowalski died on October 26.  He was one of the most creative director-producers of the ’60s, whose passing rated more attention in the press than this sole, belated Variety obit.  I guess his primary claim to fame is having directed the Mission: Impossible pilot, and later several of the good, early Columbo segments.

Mission was the culmination of a brief, productive collaboration with its creator, Bruce Geller, with also included some good episodes of The Dick Powell Show and one amazing, postmodern, ahead-of-its-time season of Rawhide.  (Too ahead of its time: they got fired.)  Sam Peckinpah made their partnership a trio for a time, but he was too volatile for it to last.

The year that Bernie launched Mission: Impossible, he directed or produced a total of five successful series pilots – for Mission, The Monroes, The Guns of Will Sonnett, The Rat Patrol (Kowalski produced, Tom Gries directed), and NYPD.  I can’t imagine that’s not a record.  The NYPD pilot would never be broadcast; Kowalski’s show featured Robert Hooks, Frank Converse, and Robert Viharo as a multiracial team of young detectives.  When the show went to series a year later, Viharo was gone, replaced by Jack Warden as an older police captain.

Bernie had two flirtations with feature careers – early on, as a director of low-budget sci-fi and action films (Attack of the Giant Leeches) for Gene and Roger Corman, and for a while in the late ’60s and early ’70s after his TV career had peaked with that string of hit pilots.  Those movies (Krakatoa – East of Java, Macho Callahan, SSSSS) were eclectic but not very good, and Bernie slid back into episodic TV.  His credits include long stints on a raft of classics or, at least, popular hits: The Rebel, The Untouchables, Perry Mason, Banacek, Columbo, Baretta, Knight Rider, Airwolf, Jake and the Fatman.  The conclusions one draws from that list, I guess, are that Bernie had a skill for handling masculine action material, and that he was a good man to call in if you had a temperamental star who liked to throw his weight around.  Bernie was an easygoing guy, but he didn’t take any crap from anybody.

I met Bernie in January 2006, and we spent more than three hours at his Northridge home, just covering the pre-Krakatoa years (plus a little bit of Columbo).  His memories were vivid, funny, and forthright (he admitted, for instance, that the visual style of Mission: Impossible was cribbed straight from The Ipcress File).  Plus, it’s always a bonus to talk to someone in the house where they’ve lived for many decades.  At one point Bernie gestured toward the front lawn as he was telling me a story about a fistfight that erupted between Sam Peckinpah and the writer James Lee Barrett, and I realized I was sitting in the same den where Peckinpah and Lee Marvin and many others had caroused with Bernie over the years.

Bernie and his wife Helen were very warm and hospitable that afternoon, and I wish I’d stayed in touch; I still don’t even know how Bernie died (he seemed in pretty good health two years ago).  It’s a common occurrence for an historian, but it still makes me sad.

7 Responses to “In Memoriam: Bernard L. Kowalski (1929-2007)”

  1. Mike & Debra Pierce Says:

    Bernie was a great man,I met Bernie and wonderful Helen after the Northridge Quake ,what a fun couple,I had the opportunity to work for them for about a year remodeling there Home in north ridge , they were both so much fun , I remember we were trying to get a drywall contractor to do a spanish style finish in the house, that was a smooth type finish with booby bumps all over it was very humorous at the time and when we found a guy, Bernie always gave such great praise to all that had tallent in any feild, he would always Tell me ..Pierce i love to have you around your energy is so strong lets go to Vegas…I loved Them both and i am so proud to have got to have Bernie and Helen in my Memorie of Life.They accepted My wife Debra and I as family and gave us free rain of there property and Condo in Delmar , Its really hard to find such Genuine people like them anymore , We love you Helen and Im sorry I Just was made aware of this great lost to You and the Kids, M.Pierce and Debra love you and will never forget you guys in Our Life,God Bless.

    Pierce


  2. […] Heffron, ’70s film director who did the pilots for Toma and The Rockford Files. Oct 26: Bernard L. Kowalski, prolific A-list director (Rawhide, Columbo) who launched Mission: Impossible. Nov 11: Delbert […]

  3. One Tree Hill lover Says:

    One Tree Hill episode 9 season 5 was in memory of him.

  4. Vern Says:

    The best Thanksgiving dinner I ever had. My sister in-law Susan called and said she was inviting over 2 friends for Thanksgiving dinner to our little home in Maui. When I opened the door it was Bernie and Helen, at the time I did not know who they were other than new friends. I knew Peter but never meet his Dad Bernie or his Mom. I must say after 5 minutes with them I was hooked, I wanted to leave Maui and get back in the film business again. We talked for hours and I still remember all the people and places he talked about, his true love and passion for the film industry was more than inspiring for me. I will never forget the best Thanksgiving dinner I ever had.

  5. Gloria Robinette Says:

    Wow. I worked with Bernie in Madrid, Spain on the film Krakatoa, East of Java. I became close to Helen and Bernie. How I loved them. They were fun, warm, hospitable, and beautiful people. I lost touch over the years and regret that but they never changed, did they?

  6. Robert J Mauro Says:

    Bernie was a family friend, my dad and Bernie were in the Army together and we would travel to California every other year and Bernie and Helen would always make us feel welcomed. My dad was supposed to meet up with Bernie and a couple of other guys from their Army days but when he got there they had to break the news to my dad. He was heartbroken for quite a while. Dad has just passed in Nov, I sure hope they find each other in heaven. Bernie and Dad, RIP

  7. Sandra Gutierrez Vargas Says:

    Thank you for sharing. It was nice to read. My dad and Bernard were cousins. I heard of his name and his accolades as I was growing up. I never met him but I always told people that he was my family. I loved seeing his name in the credits of many shows.


Leave a comment